Doves – Lost Souls

So Doves’ album Lost Souls (2000). I’m not saying it’s bad, I’m just saying I got bored with it…every time. There is something about this album that has failed to catch my attention. The music is ok; the vocals do not suck, but I cannot indulge myself or dive into the music like I have done with other albums (on and off the list). I keep relistening to this album in order to find something catching, or at least unique, and honestly, it sounds like a simple rock album. I am not impressed, but I do not hate it. It’s just typical. I have been listening to a lot of music lately that I have been really getting into (Joy Formidable, We Were Promised Jetpacks, Of Monsters and Men, Frank Ocean). Sorry, but this does not stack up in comparison. One thing that I did notice is how there are times when I felt like I was listening to Radiohead, but a bad Radiohead. This album has Radiohead-esque moments but it’s like buying cheap beer, the more you have, the more you want the good shit (Innis!). I’m finding it even hard to talk about this album for very long. It’s like clockwork, by the middle of what I think is the second or third song, I forget I am even listening to something. By the way, I listen to everything with headphones if that’s any evidence to my apathy for this album. All in all, eh. Nothing to see here.

 

 

Track List

 
Next Week: The National – High Violet

P.S. I’ll start posting regularly again, I promise.

Leave a Reply

