Creedence Clearwater Revival – Cosmo’s Factory

I’m sure most of you have heard of CCR at least once in your lifetime. Songs like “Travelin’ Band,” “I Heard it Through the Grapevine,” and “Who’ll Stop the Rain” are played all the time on the radio. For me, listening to a whole CD of CCR was not a thrilling idea. The fact that the radio repeats the same songs from the same bands over and over is part of the reason why I avoid it, mostly. However, keeping with the surprising turn of events of the CDs I have been listening to for this blog, I found Cosmo’s Factory to be pleasant overall. Admittedly, I had to listen to it multiple times because when the songs that I am familiar with start playing, I zoned out. So, I made sure I heard it once through, with no distractions, before writing this.

The opening of the album is my favorite part. “Ramble Tamble” opens up with a good riff, and then sounds like good ol’ CCR, but, at the 2:00 minute mark, the song changes for me. This is when I perked up and really started paying attention. Fogerty’s voice disappears and it becomes 4more minutes of instrumental goodness. Singing picks up again at the last minute. The nice interplay of guitar and drums, with some noticeable bass in the background, makes “Ramble Tamble” the best song on the whole album. After awhile, they start playing this oddly placed sequence, going 1, 2, 3,…1, 2, 3, that I find hard to explain except by saying it sounds kind of ahead of its time. This album came out in the 1970, and the use of a sound that feels synthesizer-esque (it’s probably just a piano), with nicely placed guitar riffs on top, is ahead of the game to me.

The rest of the album is plain CCR, which is not bad at all if you’re into a group influenced by blues and southern rock. The second song on the album feels so bluesy that without Fogerty’s distinct voice, I wouldn’t be able to tell it was CCR at all. As long as Fogerty is singing, it always sounds like Creedence. What I liked about this album, besides the previously stated, is the covers. “I Heard it Through the Grapevine” is an amazing song not matter who sings it, almost. Whether it’s Marvin Gaye or CCR, I can never turn this song off. “Ooby Dooby” is a cover of an old Roy Orbison song. This song is just fun. I dare someone to listen to it and not want to dance. Even I wanted to dance, and I’m like Elaine. The last cover, that I know of, on this album is “My Baby Left Me.” Originally an Elvis song, it also inspires movement, even if it’s just toe-tapping. It has a great opening with the Double Bass sound.

To sum it up, Cosmo’s Factory is not a bad album. However, with today’s radio it is hard to really listen to CCR without hearing songs that have been played over and over. So of course, many of the standout tracks I haven’t heard before. If you’re not a CCR fan, no problem, but I do suggest listening to “Ramble Tamble” for that 4 minutes of awesome instrumental.

 

Track List

 

Next Week: Adam and the Ants – Kings of the Wild Frontier

Leave a Reply

